Zebilla: Hon. Cletus Avoka supports community watchdog committee.

Zebilla: Hon. Cletus Avoka supports community watchdog committee.

The member of Parliament for Zebilla Constituency, Hon. Cletus Apul Avoka has donated three Haojin Motorcycles valued at GH¢ 20,700.00 to the community watchdog committee (Kuolweog) to assist in combating crime in the the District.
He made the presentation at the Zebilla Police Station on Monday 2nd May, 2022.  
The legislator for the Constituency described the recent robbery incident that happened near the Abaakuga on the Boya-Yelwoko road leading to the death of two people in the Boya Kpalsako electoral as unfortunate and yet another reminder that stakeholders in the District need to work together to combat crime in the area. 
Hon. Avoka hinted that, plans are far advanced to provide the community watchdog committee with more logistics such as walkie talkies, boots and flash lights to enable them carry on with their duties efficiently.

Hon. Cletus Avoka advised the Kuolweog committee to use the motorcycles for the intended purpose.

Receiving the bikes on behalf of the committee, the District police Commander, ASP Jackson Kportufe, expressed his appreciation to the MP and other stakeholders working with the police to fight crime in the area. He however cautioned the committee not to that to take the law into their own hands and act arbitrarily. He said, their main duty is to report criminal suspects to the police to effect an arrests.

On his part, the DCE for Bawku West and the Chairman of the district security council, Hon. Ahmed Tahiru Issahaku, assured the committee his continuous backing as they volunteer to help make the committees safe.
In a rather interesting twist, private legal practitioner and former member of Parliament for Zebilla Constituency and John Akparibo Ndebugri Esq. raised some concerns about the legality of the community watchdog committee. He noted that, such establishments do not legal backing. He therefore suggested to the assembly to enact bye-laws that will regulate and the operations of the committee. 
Also in attendance at the ceremony were former DCES Alhaji Moro Anaba Adam and Simon Ayande Agbango.

The beneficiaries of the donations are the Binaba, Zebilla and Sapeliga zones.

9" data-ad-format="auto" data-full-width-responsive="true">